Writing Essential Saturday. What the writer meant.

We partied hardy during those times. It was the best until the room started spinning, barfing began and the ultimate hangover; making it the worst of times. Perhaps it was foolishness, but we believed blood leaching was the epoch of incredulity.

~~~~~

My apologies to those that love this classic, but I’ve never been able to get through the first few pages, so I have no clue what this story is all about. Shame on me. We own a 2nd edition of, A Tale of Two Cities.

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity…

21 thoughts on “Writing Essential Saturday. What the writer meant.

  1. Try this: It was the best of offices; it was the worst of offices that dark and stormy night when Call-me-ishmael barfed all over Captain Ahab’s after working 18 straight hours at the Moby Dick Tavern for Lost Seamen.

  2. Pam, that is exactly what I was hoping to read. You did it perfectly.

    And, yes, you should force yourself to read the entire book. I was “forced” to read it in high school and have read it, probably, six times since then. And I still love it!

    • You no doubt love it because you speak multiple languages, including Greek. I lucked out. Required reading for me was Wuthering Heights.

      Glad I finally did something write. I was fun to right.

      Are you and yours okay? I saw on your post that there were health issues. I worry about you.

  3. I read it, at least twice, but it’s been years. I wanted to do one on the book, 1984, but didn’t, because I still don’t have the stupid glasses.

    Yes, Len, how are you?

  4. Pingback: WESat: August 16, 2014 – I Remember When… | Writing Essential Group

Leave a Reply

