Name This Rock (2)

I’ll give you a hint as this is not a common form. It’s soft enough to cut and carve with hand tools such as a knife, file and sand paper. It’s not talc nor is it soapstone. It’s fairly simple to finish it to a high glossy/glassy sheen.

There was a small lode of it by the side of an old highway leading to Lake Roosevelt, Arizona. Sadly, when the road was widened, the lode was destroyed.

P1020974

P1020977

P1020979

Sorry about the fuzzyness. Still not good with a camera.

So, what do you think it is?

40 thoughts on “Name This Rock (2)

  1. Yes, I got my glasses, which aren’t right (still) and after trying them out forever, have to go back again.
    Another hint? Rock, mineral, gem and what letter does it start with? πŸ™‚

    Bird is not a hint. Unless there’s a bird stone.

    Pam, have you and your husband been here?
    http://www.arkansas.com/things-to-do/diamond-hunting/?gclid=CPPXl6-pv8ACFYNsfgodw78ACA

    Ouch, that’s probably too long, the diamond crater national park in Arkansas?

    Or here? I might be able to figure it out here, but I don’t want to cheat (yet)
    I think I could live here.
    http://www.pointsoflight.net/index.html

  2. satin gypsum? Well, I was going to say a form of gypsum, but that doesn’t start with “sat” and neither does Calcite. And you said, talc is out. Why don’t I know this? I work with crystals daily, but have never seen that. I also thought of sandstone, but it doesn’t shine and it also doesn’t start with an “sat”.
    And that first one? The grape juice crystals? That was a trick, plus I knew the petrified wood, right off, because I had some (had a lot, before leaving Florida and leaving my crystals, too) and it’s hard to start a new collection all over again!

Leave a Reply

