WESun, WESat challenge response, MaadMaax Len, The Pregnant Man

Got knocked up

Yup

Boy inside
Little old me

Still smoking cigs
Still drinking beer
Cursing loud enough
For the embryo to hear

Gotta learn him good.

Baby pops out
hemorrhoids hurt
Little guy
Looks like a wrinkled turd

Not really

Sweet little guy
With a brown and a blue eye
One for his mom and one for this guy

He was swimming in beer
Cursing he would hear
What did he learn?
Nothing I fear.

His first words were
“I love you mom.”

~~~~~

The Challenges were: The Prompt from Sunday
Today I want you to think about the placement of the words on the page.

Study the examples. How does the typography affect the way you would read them if you were to read them out loud?

Write a poem, or take one you’ve already written. Experiment with the typography to vary the pace, emphasize certain words or phrases, even create visual puns—see the Kinnell poem or, in mine:

That link: http://writingessentialgroup.com/2014/09/21/sunwinks-september-21-2014-playing-the-field/
~~~~~
The prompt from Saturday: This Week’s Challenge:

Using prose or poetry, write about your own cravings when you were pregnant or about the cravings your wife/girlfriend had.

That link: http://writingessentialgroup.com/2014/09/27/wesat-september-27-2014-i-think-im-pregnant/

36 thoughts on “WESun, WESat challenge response, MaadMaax Len, The Pregnant Man

      • Good morning, Pam. Boy, you are good. You know some people need a little push 😉 I am still in Otto’s photographing workshop (1 more week?) and doing my assignment is my highest priority at this moment. At this age, I can only focus on one thing at a time. (Haven’t done a thing about eBook either ;-(
        I really like this post. Still smiling…
        Helen

  1. My favorite line was “Looks like a wrinkled turd” because that’s what I think most newborns look like.

    Thanks, Pam, that was wonderful.

    • Len, you’re here. I was worried I had offended you. On the other hand, your challenge was to pick on a pregnant woman. Can’t believe you actually read a poem and liked it. Thanks.

  2. Pingback: WESat: October 4, 2014 – My Finest Dinner | Writing Essential Group

  3. This one is so lovely… It made me smile high 😀
    I love the way you have mixed up past and future here.
    Memories of what we used to be, as the saying goes.
    Thanks for sharing, best wishes, Aquileana 😛

  4. Pingback: SunWinks! September 21, 2014: Playing the Field | Writing Essential Group

Leave a Reply

